so my college course decided to instigate a new grading system, for those reading that dont know, in the uk, our further education is mostly based on a pass or fail system, where the only grad eyou receive is that in your end of year graded unit. this is then broken down into different facotrs that equals what your grade will be, for example, you have to answer somthing with knowledge about this subject, this is worth 2 points out of 20, a full 20 = a top end A, with 14 being a low end A. now those points you can get 0, 1 or 2, this all depends on your knowldege of the subject.
back to our new system, this was instigated 1/3 way through our year, at first i was excited for it, as on the surface, this means that people who do little work wouldnt have just a simple pass that the hardest working students get, hence having a break down of the grade. though this in itself is the trick and lie of it. so it was the head of our dept that decided to start this, most likely as a self serving boost to his career, and he wanted ot show it off, he gave a rough layout as to how to get grades, then there was a second grade along with your graded work...which was effort, ie did you turn up, were you late, did you pay attention etc. this is further education, we are adults, myself being 26, ive worked since i was 16, sure there are times i need to accomodate earning money over the education im persuing. but why should i receive a grade for this? i'll come back to that again in a few.
now, when we were told abou this, we were also told outright, these grades mean nothing, SQA hadnt approved it at all, this would not affect us getting into uni etc. though it woudl affect our chances of getting into the next year, the HND. my thoughts about this started becoming weerie about all of it. especially when i had finished 2 full classes well before it was intended to finish, a full month in fact, both lecturers for said class were happy with my work and wished me well (since i wouldnt be getting them again) but no mention of the grade. the only person who pushed the grade was the head of the dept, who was in charge of a class. Now its at this point i want to also add that he pushed up the deadline by 2 weeks, as he wanted to get started on the rgaded unit, 2 weeks early. we were only told this a couple of weeks before this new deadline was set into motion. and on the deadline date he was messaging and posting frantically on social media trying to get students to hand in work, not really taking into account several things.which will be listed below
- the deadline had been moved up by 2 weeks with little notice
- most students need to work to keep themselves going, the deadline was on an off day for college
- some people might not even be able to see this on social media, lack of internet or data at the time etc